Sportplan Trial

I’ve recently been testing out Sportplan’s coaching platform after their recent web update. The software worked well on both my mac and iPad which is good if you are looking to plan sessions on the move. It allows for you to create drill sketches and session plans for a variety of sports and has a vast selection of animated drills to browse within its library. These can be inserted easily into your own session plans with all the detail you’d need to deliver the session (i.e. coaching points)

The video below gives you a preview of the new site.


For coaches looking for a library of animated drills/clips and a simple way of creating professional looking session plans this software is great.

As I understand it you can only create animated drills by purchasing one of the animators available. It is also worth bearing in mind that the software is web based there for internet access is needed to use it. An app is in the making I hear!

Thanks to @SportplanTeam for letting me try out the software.

15 responses to “Sportplan Trial

  1. My name is Logan Kirkland and I attend the University of South Alabama where I am studying to be a PE Teacher and baseball coach. This article really peeked my interest and I plan to use this when I start coaching. I believe this is essential today for our players and will be very well received. Thanks for the article, Logan Kirkland.

  2. PE teacher and HS hockey coach. I found this article to be very helpful Thank you

  3. Hi, My name is Tyler Malone and I am a student at the University of South Alabama. This site looked like it would be very helpful in the explaining of how a game works. This site could be very helpful for an instructor teaching physical education. Very helpful article, Tyler Malone.

  4. Hello, my name is Duane Nelson and I am student in EDM 310 at the University of South Alabama. This site is an amazing tool that is great for all coaches. Plus the one thing that stood out to me is that you can use it on a computer, iPad, or even the telephone if you are on the go. This can be helpful to educators and coaches as well! Thank you!

    Duane Nelson EDM 310

  5. Mr, Blain, I am a student at the University of South Alabama and taking the course EDM310. I absolutely love that I was given your site to read over blog posts. I would have never found SportsPlan if it was not for this. I am pursuing to be a future high school Biology educator. My goal after becoming settled with my new job is to get involved and hopefully become the head volleyball coach somewhere. I love how SportsPlan allows you to create drills, manage time, create sketches for drills, animated drills, etc. I look forward to being able to set SportsPlan into action!!

  6. Greetings,

    I am an education major in EDM310 at the University of South Alabama. I also plan on coaching as well and SportsPlan sounds like an amazing tool. I like the variety of activities and drills provided as well as the large selection of sports. I think this tool would be valuable because it would cut down on the time necessary to create the session plans that you mentioned in your post. I will definitely use this software and look forward to the app in the making.

    Thanks for sharing,
    Mitchell

  7. Hi! My name is Luana Madden. I am an EDM310 student at the University of South Alabama. I have been assigned to comment on your blog and will be posting a summary by April 6, 2014 my class blog page at maddenluanaedm310.blogspot.com.

    Although I am not a physical education major, I think something similar to the sportplan software should be used for every field of education. I like that you can save the plans you like to a clip board and then share it from that same page just like you would share a document with someone through Google Drive.

  8. Alexis McSwain

    Hi! My name is Alexis McSwain. I am a n EDM310 student at the University of South Alabama. I have enjoyed reading your post. I’m not a physical education major this app is a great tool that teachers should know and use. Being in EDM310 it has taught me to look for things to not only help me, but help my students. This app most certainly does that.

  9. Hi, I’m Noah Armstrong. I’m a EDM310 Student at South Alabama and also an aspiring football coach as well as a player here at South. This is a site i will definitely have to look into more. Even though football has been a part of my life for many years anything that can help me to be a better coach for my future players is welcome.

  10. Hi, there I’m Patrick Rhodes and I am in EDM 310 at South Alabama. This was a great blog post. This was a very good blog post. I feel that oneday i will try to coach and this site will help me out a lot.

  11. This blog is very helpful for me. I went on it and created my own account. As a future teacher and coach i will try to use this website to help me keep my students/players involved of the daily activities we will be doing.

  12. Hey! My name is Cortnee Meyers. I am an EDM310 student at The University of South Alabama. I am a future physical education teacher and I really enjoyed this blog post. I like this app because we get to use technology in the gym. I think that’s a plus because students aren’t use to that and it may make them more interested in learning. I like how the app gives a better visual for learning new drills. We all know students learn in different ways and I feel this app is a great visual for students who may not get it by verbal instruction.
    Thank you,
    Cortnee Meyers

  13. Hi!
    My name is Raven Williams and I am a student at the University of South Alabama. I am a future PE teacher/coach and I really enjoyed this post. I think that this would be very helpful when I begin coaching one day. I really like that you can use it on the go. I hope it becomes an app as well!

  14. Kiyana Anderson

    Hi Mr. Blain,
    My name is Kiyana Anderson and I am a student at the University of South Alabama taking the EDM 310 course. I am a future elementary teacher and I really enjoyed reading your post about this new software. I am really not into sports like that, but this software would be helpful to coaches and even players looking to practice different drills and plays. I am going to definitely mention this to a few of my friends who play sports and would be interested in this software.

  15. Brandi Wescovich

    Hi Mr. Blain,
    My name is Brandi Wescovich and I am a student at the University of South Alabama. I am enrolled in the EDM 310 course. I am in the elementary education program, and I loved reading about the software you found. I am also a dance teacher after school, and I find this very helpful because I could use it with my dancers. I will also show this to the other dance teachers and see if they would use it in their classes.

Leave a Reply

