iPad Workflow’s in PE – Edmodo & Google Drive

From working individually with the iPad and using class sets I have come to realise the importance of having good workflow’s for exporting work from various apps to a central resource that can be shared with a variety of individuals. For this I use two tools, namely Edmodo and Google Drive

Edmodo

A while back I posted on workflow’s for using Edmodo with coacheseye  as a way of students exporting work from the iPad at the end of lessons so that it can be accessed in the future by the student, their peers and/or teacher. For individuals who do not use Edmodo, it is now possible to export from a range of apps straight into Edmodo or via the photo roll. This is a great feature for schools that have class sets of iPads/iPods as students can now upload their work somewhere at the end of lessons. Student created Keynote’s, Comic Life creations or Pages publications can now be submitted for assessment by teacher or peers or kept for future reference.

Google Drive

In addition to Edmodo I have also been using Google Drive as a storage option to keep a variety of files organised. The Google Drive iPad app allows you to upload documents easily from your photo roll (I posted here on how we used it within my department to capture good practice) or you can send to google drive directly from many apps. The department has a shared folder within Google Drive which has many sub-folders which all members can contribute to and thus allows documents to be accessed from anywhere at anytime on a variety of platforms.

I have been using Google Drive for administrative and departmental tasks and Edmodo when working with the students however students could upload their work on Google drive also if school’s have the Google apps for Education suite and students have Gmail accounts.

Either way, both tools allow the mobile nature of the iPad to be used to it’s full potential for teachers and students within Physical Education.

7 responses to “iPad Workflow’s in PE – Edmodo & Google Drive

  1. Hello, my name is Duane Nelson and I am a student in EDM 310 at the University of South Alabama. I have really enjoyed reading your blog post and I agree that these tools Google Drive and Edmodo are great assets that all educators can use in their field of teaching. Thank you for your advice and this something I will use in my future teachings.

    Duane Nelson EDM 310

  2. Mr, Blain, I love your enthusiasm and love for teaching PE. It shows tremendously through your posts. I am a Junior at the University of South Alabama and I am just now learning about Goggle drive and how everything works. I know your students will thoroughly appreciate all that you have taught them through technology later in life (if they do not already now). I have not heard, seen, or read anything about Edmodo but I will definitely be looking into it now for future educational purposes. I also looked into Workflow and I will absolutely being using this app in my future for educational purposes. Thanks a lot! God bless!

  3. Mr. Blain,

    This is another informative blog post just like the one before it about the Sports Plan website. My EDM 310 class at the University of South Alabama also uses Google Drive to collaboratively work and share our projects and presentations with the rest of the class. It is a great tool that can be used in so many different ways. Keep up the good work!

    Mitchell Lane

  4. Hi Coach Blain,

    My name is Luana Madden. I posted on your previous blog posts. I am a student at the University of South Alabama in Mobile, Alabama. I was assigned to your blog again this week, and I will be posting a summary of both blog posts that I have commented on. The summary will be on my blog page at http://maddenluanaedm310.blogspot.com/, this Sunday, April 6, 2014.

    I wanted to make a comment about the Edmodo post. I have never heard of it, but Edmodo sounds like something I would definitely use for my class at the end of a particular lesson or activity block. I really like the idea of the students being able to work freely on the class’s electronic device, and then being able to save their work for review, no matter which device they use. I am currently using Google Drive and I really like that I can open it up on any device anywhere. Thank you for the post; it was very informative.

  5. Coach Blain,
    I am going to be coaching football after I graduate from South Alabama and this could be very useful for sharing film of the offensive line in particular with my players. The very nature of an iPad makes it perfect for bringing out to the field to make my own film of my boys. As you have probably seen the normal practice film is not the best for coaching the big boys up front, because it focuses on the speedy skill players. This would allow me to share film privately with them that will actually help. Thanks for the idea!
    – Noah E Armstrong

  6. Hi!
    My name is Raven Williams and I am a student in EDM310 at the University of South Alabama. I think Google drive is a great tool! It’s very easy to use and can be used for many different purposes. I’m not familiar with Edmodo, but it sounds like a great tool as well!

  7. Brandi Wescovich

    Mr Blain,
    In my EDM 310 class, we use Google Drive regularly. I find that it is a great way to share items with others for educational reasons. I have never heard of Edmodo, but I will defiantly check it out. I like how all of your blog posts are about using technology in a PE Class.

Leave a Reply

