Research informed Practice in PE

Using research informed ideas within my teaching has always been something I have tried to do however it can be difficult to access research material unless you are directly involved in academic work through a university. I feel as teachers we should be aware of what current research is suggesting about Physical Education. The Association for PE do provide a termly publication for their members called “Physical Education Matters” which has many ideas, some of which are research based to inspire and enhance delivery of the subject. For an additional cost they also offer the journal “Physcial Education and Sport Pedagogy

However if you like me are looking for a free option!! You must check out Dr Ashley Casey’s (@DrAshCasey) blog  where he is  undergoing a major project, reviewing a research paper a week from the 98 published in “The Major Theme’s in Physical Education” book edited by Professor David Kirk. This really is narrowing the gap between research and practice and can stimulate some excellent discussion from around the globe. This insight into what research tells us about our subject has certainly helped me to reflect upon my own practice and I am grateful to him for the work he is putting into this blog.

10 responses to “Research informed Practice in PE

  1. Mr. Robinson,

    My name is Phillip Hall and I am a student at the University of South Alabama. I am taking EDM 310 with Dr. Strange. I am also a physical education major, so your blog sparked my interest. This is the first blog I have responded to relating to phyical education. Thank you for the publication and blog link. I too believe that staying up with current research is important in things we are studying or any jobs we have.

    Phillip

  2. Mr. Robinson

    I am a student at the University of South Alabama, with Dr. Strange.

    I totally agree with you. People should be aware of current research. Physical Education is so overlooked in my opinion.

  3. Hey! My name is Farrah, and I think that using research informed ideas in teaching is a great idea. It keep teachers informed on all of the best techniques. I will also do this when I become a teacher and a coach.

  4. I am a edm310 student at the University of South Alabama and I believe it to be very important and beneficial for teachers of all kinds to keep up with research in their field. It would help teachers to come up with more relevant material for our students.

  5. Thanks Phillip, Jared, Farrah and Jessica for you comments, nice to know my blog is reaching students all around the globe!

  6. Great post- as another student from South Alabama, thank you for sharing with the world! Dr. Strange does a great job of connecting us with quality blogs that we can continue to use as professionals, even if our focus isn’t in P.E. Studying the research and understanding what you are about to teach is great advice.
    Sally

  7. I too am a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM310 class. I can see where P.E. could be looked over in schools. I think it is an important part of learning, though. I am unaware of what current research is exactly saying about physical education, but you’ve sparked an interest for me. I am going to do some searching and see what I can find! Having research to fall back on can help in any subject.

  8. Really like the links! They are a good heads up! Especially the free ones! I really enjoy being able to keep up with the latest trends in our field it always very helpful! I am also very into twitter so thank you for the heads up on who to follow as well! I look forward to reading more of your posts!

  9. My name is Logan Kirkland and I attend the University of South Alabama where I am studying to be a PE Teacher and baseball coach. This article has really made me think of ways that I can continue learning after I start working. We owe it to our students to offer them the most up to date and safe ways to exercise and learn. I congratulate you on going the extra mile for your students. logan Kirkland.

  10. Abraham Trevino

    I am an aspiring Physical Educator and I agree that research is a great way to learn more about our content and strive to give the best to our students.

Leave a Reply

