Department Developments…

After a very productive departmental meeting I thought I’d share a few thoughts and ideas that we are looking to develop. There have been loads of good things going on in the department and we are now looking to formalise these as well as develop a few more. In order to do this one of my colleagues came up with the idea of recording video footage/snippets of lessons to upload and share with everyone else. We’re lucky to have staff iPads so this will be a relatively simple process! Using video will be a quick way of sharing ideas and discussing people’s thoughts on a variety of teaching and learning strategies.

We then took this a step further by suggesting it would also be useful to share other resources we create be it lesson plans or ideas for conditioned games etc. either as word processed files, presentations of via apps such as explain everything. To enable this we have created a file in Google Drive to share all of our departmental documents, many of which are created with the google apps suite. We are fortunate that the school has adopted google apps for education, giving each member of staff a google drive account with 5GB of online storage. Within the main departmental folder we have a variety of folders, with one being specifically designated for teaching and learning ideas. Here we will have a variety of sub folders for different activity areas, examination subjects such as GCSE, a folder for starters, plenaries and ideas for integrating ICT. Ideas created or discovered can then be placed within this folder which is immediately shared with all, giving access at anytime from anywhere.

I’ll keep you posted on how it goes…

11 responses to “Department Developments…

  1. Hey! My name is Farrah, and I am in EDM 310 at the University of South Alabama. I am going to school to be a teacher and to coach volleyball or softball. I think that the idea of using iPads to share video footage with others on the staff is a great idea! It shows how technology can make being an educator so much easier.

  2. Hello, My name is Jordan and I am a pre-service teacher at Illinois State University. I am getting my degrees in Physical Education and Health. I wanted to ask a few questions about your department developments. I grew up in the Chicago Public School system and there are always usually students who can not be taped or photographed. When you are recording these lessons do you need to take this into account? Do the parents of the students know that their students are being filmed even though it is for educational purposes? Would your taped lessons be available for other pe teachers in other states or just in your school and area?

  3. I love how technology is helping us become more efficient with our lesson plans. The idea of video recording your lesson plan is something I would love to use in the future…thanks for sharing your ideas!

  4. Hey,

    This is Phillip Hall again. I am a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class. What a great idea. Not only can they read a lesson plan, but a person will also be able to view the lesson. Sort of like flipping the classroom for your colleagues. This would not be a bad idea for a student teacher. Thanks for allowing me to view your blog. Very helpful.

    Phillip

  5. Hey,
    Corey Waldon from the University of South Alabama, back again. I see now your department is doing a lot of great things. I see you all are using ipads as a resource to collect ideas and lesson. In EDM310 we use Google drive a lot and i think since i know about it now I would be better prepare when i become a teacher. I think its great that you can share documents, presentation,videos activities and lesson plans to your colleges. I hope all is great keep up the good work.

  6. I’m also a student at the University of South Alabama in EDM310. I think sharing your video footage of lessons via technology is awesome. You can use technology for anything now. I think it’s easier and more efficient for the teachers as well as the students. We use google drive in our classroom and it’s great. You can share something in a split second with whoever you’d like and you don’t have to worry about printing anything or writing it down. Good luck with everything!

  7. Hello my name is Chris May. I am a student in EDM310 as well. I am looking to become a PE teacher and was assigned to read your blog. I really like that you are using iPads and other technology to collect your lesson plans and such. I myself am trying to look int ways to use other technologies in the PE classroom setting. I like your blog a lot and really enjoy the other links you have added as well.

    • Hi Chris, thanks for following the blog. Trying to post something of interest where possible! I think it’s great that you have a task to follow some PE related blogs. Would love to hear more about this task, the university and group from you or your fellow students sometime…

  8. Pingback: iPad Workflow’s in PE – Edmodo & Google Drive | The Physical Education Teacher

  9. Alexis McSwain

    Hello My name is Alexis McSwain. I am a student in EDM310 at the University of South Alabama. I think its a great idea to record different lessons and share them with colleagues. The best way to know if something works and make sure we are reaching all of our students is by team work. Excellent job. I think my professor would be excited to know that you are using technology is this way.

  10. Pingback: Teaching Resources…should we share? | mrsrisson

Leave a Reply

