Cricket Scoring on iPad

If you’re fed up of umpiring whilst holding a giant scorebook like many PE teachers in UK find themselves around this time of the year then you must check out NX Cricket Scoring app for iPad

http://www.nxtreme.com/iphone/nxCricket-HD.html

This is my second year of using the app and I’ve found it easier than a scorebook and it gives much more information instantly. During or after the game you can see run rates, manhattans, wagon wheels, partnerships, strike rates and much more. In a few clicks at the end of the game these can all be uploaded to a website or blog in pdf format for students to view. This can help them to analyse their game and further their understanding of the game. I’ve been uploading to our department website then informing students via the departmental twitter account that the information is available for download.

I’d recommend trialling before using it in a key game to become familiar with the buttons/keys before hand.

16 responses to “Cricket Scoring on iPad

  1. Gareth Simpson

    Hi Dylan,

    Just thought I’d reply to this post about the cricket apps. At my current school we have trialled; NxCricket and Natwest CricHQ. Both apps can produce incredibly detailed and interesting information about the performance of your team. They are both equally as challenging to begin with, however following few attempts at it, and the correct set up, they are brilliant little apps that help us technologically advantaged sports staff! However, we did find that both apps ,at times, can be incredibly detailed and possible too detailed for any schools cricket. Saying that, you can amend the level of input to as much (pitch of ball including; length and line, destination etc), or as little, information as you desire. With all this in mind we do use both, but we are slightly leaning towards the CricHQ app as it is free. We then hope to trial it on iPads, if and when we get any.

    Just thought I’d share this with and your many readers.

  2. PE technology in today that can help physical education teachers in the documentation. And allows students to access the results of the task. How we have to pay to download the app?

  3. Hi. We use an app similar to this but for my softball team. It can calculate the girl’s and team averages as well as going into further detail of their “at bats” or what they did on the bases. However, we have found that the app does not correctly calculate certain things (sacrifice bunt/fly) and it counts it against the girls. Has anyone using their sports apps had a problem with this? Or have I just downloaded an app that isn’t made correctly?

  4. This is great! I love how you’re using technology in PE. More and more often people are finding ways to advance classroom learning but what about Physical Education? Keep up the good work in making PE technological advanced.

  5. I am all for anything that will help students succeed, whether on the field, or in the classroom. Everyday there is a new App to help in improving something. I like how physical education has brought technology into the class.

  6. Stephen Alexander

    Great post. you gave clear information about the app. and what all it can do. It is so cool to see technology come over into the sport’s world to help keep scores and records of games.

  7. Great post. I love seeing technology running into sports now days. It is awesome to be able to get immediate feedback after a game.

  8. Hey Dylan,
    I’m not a big fan of cricket but I think this app is great. It seems like it could make keeping score of a game of cricket a lot easier. I like the fact that you could email it also. I am a true fan of technology and using it in sports. I would like to see more technology used in every sport. Great post

  9. Hey Dylan,
    I’m not a big fan of cricket but I think this app is great. It seems like it could make keeping score of a game of cricket a lot easier. I like the fact that you could email it also. I am a true fan of technology and using it in sports. I would like to see more technology used in every sport. Great post

  10. I just want to find out how to save the match results and to end an innings

  11. How do I download the app?

  12. I believe this is among the such a lot vital info for me.
    And i’m glad studying your article. However wanna commentary on few common issues, The web
    site taste is great, the articles is actually nice : D.
    Just right process, cheers

  13. A fascinating discussion is worth comment. I believe that you need to write more about this
    subject matter, it might not be a taboo matter but usually people do
    not speak about such issues. To the next! Best wishes!!

  14. If you desire to obtain much from this post then you have
    to apply these strategies to your won blog.

  15. Does anyone know how on a ‘run out’ to add in the fielders name along with the person who caught & stumped the wickets on nxcricket. I usually use crichq for our club scoring, but have just started nxcricket for our school scoring. Thank you.

  16. When looking for brand-new information about this, it is quite typical to not understand where to start. Thank the heavens I discovered this blog! I would bet that this website receives its’ reasonable amount of traffic due to the fact that of the precise nature of its’ sunject matter. On the very same note, I ‘d lilke to extand my personal thankfulness to the posts’ author for sharing their know-how.

Leave a Reply

