Agility Sessions for Pre-season Football

With the new season approaching and pre-season training underway I’ve found myself going through sessions in my head whilst running! Having taken part in many sessions-some so un-specific to football I’m left wondering what is the point?! This has led me to devise an agility session which I think is as specific as they come (in relation to developing agility/agility endurance for football).

Here’s the  Agility_session I came up with for personal use during pre-season. It involves an initial set-up of cones and allows for many modifications when training. I aimed to make the session as specific as possible to football by including a variety of changes of direction. I also modify sets, reps and recovery periods to develop different components of fitness. For pure agility/speed/acceleration I allow greater recovery time and work at maximal. I also use it to work my muscular endurance/agility endurance and lactic acid energy system by working for longer, resting for less etc.

I also aim to integrate the session into my teaching with my GCSE students when delivering the “principles of training” (Specificity, Progression, Overload, Reversibility, Tedium). I plan on letting them try the session, modify it to make it more specific to their sport, then as homework comment on a wallwisher wall relating the principles of training to the session.

As always I welcome any comments.

2 responses to “Agility Sessions for Pre-season Football

  1. Pingback: Body Workout 101

  2. Luciano Garcia y Omar ñanquan

    We think the Agility Session is appropriate for students, it does not use weights, so each student can perform the best of himself. Also your concerns will not be on overtraining the students. We think it can be used by people like us too, so we will improve our physical fitness in college.

Leave a Reply

