Ipad/Ipod touch in PE

Reading @DrAshCasey blog on ‘the application of science’ got me thinking of how I see the possible use of the ipad or ipod touches in physical education. These are some of the ideas I came up with:

Apps such as my fitness pal allows individuals to upload exercise and nutritional data to keep a log. Imagine a lesson where pupils were able to exercise on a piece of equipment then grab an ipad and upload their activity instantly via wifi. This would be a great motivator, allow them to set targets, compare to others (around the world) and generally help them learn about the importance of a healthy, active and balanced lifestyle.

For older students studying PE at GCSE, BTEC or A Level the many fitness and training apps available would be excellent at promoting independent learning. Apps such as fitness pro demonstrate exercise activities with detailed anatomical information. Pupils with access to an ipod touch/ipad while they train could turn to these during rest periods of while their partner is working-learning whilst doing.

Dartfish’s easy tag app-allows tagging of certain events meaning simple stats can be created for anything. e.g within an invasion games lesson, the number of shots off or on target by teams could be tagged-using this data pupils could discuss what went well/what didn’t. They could then devise strategies to remedy the problems i.e. devise activities to help them improve. Having a pupils rotate as coach/analyst using the ipad/ipod touch would provide them with tools to support their judgements.

Simple mind map apps (imindmap) could be used to log thoughts & ideas. Pupils could map out gymnastics sequences in pages…

There are endless possibilities with the world wide web in your hand during PE lessons-I’d love to try a few out-you never know! I never thought I’d see pupils video analysing school matches-but that is happening-what’s next.

These are just some ideas-would love to hear peoples thoughts & any ideas.

4 responses to “Ipad/Ipod touch in PE

  1. This is the sort of thinking that we need to have in physical education: joining up thinking about and using technology in ways that enhances learning. I hope that you plans come good and would love to hear more about it. Good luck.

  2. I love these ideas. I’m new to using ipod touches and iphones but love the possibilities they provide in teaching PE. I also like the idea that they could change the way PE teachers think about what they are teaching and therefore lead them to think more about strategies in games rather than teaching skills and letting them play how they like!

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review | The Physical Education Teacher

  4. Hello there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

